Nominations sought for chapter’s 2013 awards

Chapter members are once again being asked to submit nominations for the group’s annual awards. The board of directors will review the nominations and select winners in each category, with the awards handed out during May’s Founders Day event.

The First Amendment Award: This award recognizes significant contributions to the First Amendment rights of freedom of expression. Individuals and organizations both inside and outside of journalism are eligible.

Distinguished Service Award: This award is for a member of the chapter who demonstrates professional excellence and dedication to SPJ.

Appreciation Award: This award is presented to an individual or organization that has made a notable contribution to journalism in central Ohio.

Brick Wall Award: Started in 2001, this dubious distinction is presented to the individual or organization that, according to chapter members, did the most to block citizen access to public records and proceedings or otherwise violated the spirit of the First Amendment during the past year. Anyone is eligible, but special consideration will be given to public officials and tax-funded agencies that fail to follow the law.

Send your nominations and supporting information to Eric Lyttle by April 7.

For prior award winners, see the listing on the chapter’s Web site.