Ohio SPJ Awards – 2016

2016 Ohio SPJ Awards winners

COLUMBUS –Winners in the Ohio’s Best Journalism Contest, sponsored by the Cincinnati, Cleveland and Columbus Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) chapters statewide, were honored Aug. 27, 2016 at a banquet held at The Boat House Restaurant at Confluence Park.

There were 312 awards announced out of 652 entries submitted.

The categories include large circulation print (75,000 or greater), small circulation print (fewer than 75,000), radio, television, digital media, trade organizations, freelance and college. Click here for a full list of categories.

New this year were several free-lance and digital media categories to recognize the changing journalism profession. Best of Show distinctions are awarded in all categories except college. Entries were for work done in 2015. Judging was done by the Long Island Press Club.

Journalists, who work for newspaper, magazines, radio, television, trade, online and college media in Ohio and adjacent states that have significant reach into Ohio were eligible to submit entries, as well as freelance journalists, who are Ohio residents, regardless of where their work is published, broadcast or webcast. Entrants did not need to be members of the Society of Professional Journalists.

Ohio’s Best Journalism is the only Ohio competition that honors journalists who fulfill the SPJ mission: defense of the First Amendment, support of literacy, resistance to censorship, advocacy for openness of public records and meetings, media self-criticism and community service.

Top winners were The Columbus Dispatch with 30 awards; The Cincinnati Enquirer with 24 awards; The Chronicle-Telegraph with 14 awards; and The Akron Beacon Journal with 13 awards. Top broadcast winners were WKSU Radio with 10 awards; WVXU 91.7 Radio with 15 awards; and WBNS-TV with nine awards.

In the Large Circulation Print (75,000 or greater), Best of Show category, top winners included:

  • Best Page One Design, First Place, The Akron Beacon Journal, Mark Turner
  • Best Columnist in Ohio, First Place, The Toledo Blade, Keith Burris
  • Best Reporter In Ohio, First Place, The Cincinnati Enquirer, Sharon Coolidge
  • Best Photographer in Ohio, First Place, The Columbus Dispatch, Kyle Robertson
  • Best Daily Newspaper, First Place, The Columbus Dispatch

In the Small Circulation Print (Fewer than 75,000), Best of Show category, top winners included:

  • Best Photographer, First Place, The Chronicle-Telegram, Kristin Bauer
  • Best Weekly Newspaper, First Place, Cincinnati Business Courier
  • Best Reporter in Ohio, First Place, Cleveland Jewish News, Kristen Mott
  • Best Daily Newspaper, First Place, Medina Gazette
  • Best Columnist, First Place, The Chronicle-Telegram, Rini Jeffers

In the Trade Publications, Best of Show category, winners included:

  • Best Trade Publication, First Place, Babcox Media, Tire Review Magazine
  • Best Trade Columnist, First Place, Susan Crowell, Farm and Dairy

In the Television, Best of Show category, winners included:

  • Best Reporter, First Place, Glenn McIntyre, WBNS-TV
  • Best Newscast, First Place, 10tv News @ 11, WBNS-TV

In the Radio, Best of Show category, winners included:

  • Best Reporter, First Place, Amani Abraham, WAKR
  • Best Anchor, First Place, Amanda Rabinowitz, WKSU

In the Digital Media, Best of Show category, winners included:

  • Best General News Site, First Place, columbusunderground.com
  • Best Online Still Photographer in Ohio, First Place, Kristin Bauer, The Chronicle-Telegram

In the Freelance, Best of Show, categories, winners included:

  • Small Circulation Print (fewer than 75,000), Best Freelance Writer, Great Lakes Publishing, Vince Guerrieri
  • Digital Media, Best Freelance Writer, QSR Magazine, Barney Wolf

In the College category, winners included:

  • Best College Daily Newspaper, The Daily Kent Stater, Kent State University
  • Best College Non-Daily Newspaper, The Miami Student, Miami University


ABOUT SPJ: The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior.

Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry through the daily work of its nearly 10,000 members; works to inspire current and future journalists through professional development; and advocates for the protection of the First Amendment guarantee of freedom of speech and press.

Nationally, SPJ improves and protects journalism through national and local training; advocacy for freedom of Information and resources; its Code of Ethics that encourages responsible reporting; a website filled with career resources – www.spj.org; and a national recognition program for excellence in journalism.

program for excellence in journalism.

FOR MORE INFORMATION about the Ohio SPJ Awards, please visit our website – ohiospjawards.org – or contact contest coordinator Sarah Mills Bacha at 614-563-1066 or [email protected].