Ohio SPJ Awards – Contest Information

Ohio SPJ Awards – Honoring Ohio’s Best Journalism
Ohio SPJ Awards are presented annually and collaboratively by the Cincinnati, Columbus and Cleveland Pro Chapters of the Society of Professional Journalists. It is the only Ohio competition that honors journalists who fulfill the SPJ mission: defense of the First Amendment, support of literacy, resistance to censorship, advocacy for openness of public records and meetings, media self-criticism and community service. This program also recognizes the best college daily and weekly newspapers, and awards student winners in news, feature, opinion and sports reporting.

Deadline: March 31

Eligibility: Journalists are eligible who work for newspapers, magazines, radio, television, trade, online and college media in Ohio and adjacent states that have significant reach into Ohio. Entrants need not be members of the Society of Professional Journalists. The work must have been published or broadcast in the prior calendar year.

Fees: A $30 entry fee must accompany each submission, except college students pay a $10 entry fee for writing of news, feature, sports and opinion. College newspapers may enter free. You may submit any given article in as many relevant categories as you wish. Submissions from trade publications, newsletters and other print alternatives are welcome. This contest is for journalists in the state of Ohio and immediately adjoining states whose publications / stations / work have significant reach into Ohio. There is a $5 discount per entry for work by SPJ members.

FOR MORE INFORMATION about the Ohio SPJ Awards, please visit our website – ohiospjawards.org – or contact contest coordinator Sarah Mills Bacha at 614-563-1066 or contact@ohiospjawards.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *